Silver Springs

  
Hello everyone! I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted, but my most recent record acquisition warrants re-entry into the blogosphere. I found a 45 of “Go Your Own Way” in a dollar bin in a Newbury Comics in Norwood, Massachusetts. I’ve been looking for this record for almost as long as I’ve been collecting. The reason why requires a bit of history.

In 1948, Columbia Records introduced the “Long Play” record. One could now play 45 minutes of music from a single disc, 22 minutes to a side. The 12 inch LP was originally meant for recordings of Broadway shows or long classical compositions, but it soon became the standard for pop albums regardless. Whoever set the length of the LP had never heard of Stevie Nicks or Lindsey Buckingham, nor could they have foreseen the impact that length would have on the lives of those two individuals.

Rumors by Fleetwood Mac is among the best selling records of all time, and songs like “Don’t Stop” and “The Chain” remain staples in the western word’s radio diet, but I’ve been looking for the 45 of “Go Your Own Way” for the last couple years for it’s b-side, “Silver Springs”, a song conspicuously absent from Rumors. 

Because a record only holds 45 minutes, “Silver Springs” was cut from the album in favor of the much shorter “I Don’t Wanna Know”. It’s a shameful omission in my view, as the song is Stevie Nicks’ direct response to Buckingham’s “Go Your Own Way”. Those two songs together tell the story of the turbulent time in their relationship that made Rumors such a terrific album in the first place. According to Richard Dashut, Fleetwood Mac’s engineer and co-producer at the time, “Silver Springs” is “The best song that never made it to a record album.” I feel that Rumors isn’t complete without it. 

The copy I found sitting in the dollar bin has seen better days. The original sleeve is gone in favor of a generic white paper one, there are lateral and horizontal scratches on both sides, the record is slightly warped, and the hole in the middle is ever so slightly off-center, causing the tone arm to oscillate left and right as the record plays. Stevie Nicks’ voice, however, still rings true despite 40 years of neglect by this record’s previous owners. I’ve been looking for this one for a couple year now; I guess beggars can’t be choosers.

I normally store and organize my 45’s separately from my other records, but this one I’ve decided to keep with my LP’s, nestled between Rumors and it’s next door neighbor, Benny Goodman’s The Famous 1938 Carnegie Hall Jazz Concert. There may not have been enough space on a 45 minute LP, but there’s plenty of room on the shelf.

Standard

Leave a Reply

